That’s a Funny Sort of Bag

I don’t know about any of the other ladies out there, but I hate carrying a purse. I really do! If jeans designers made pockets a bit more functional and not entirely useless for women, you best believe I would use the crap out of them and ditch my purse! However, considering the amount of fake and barely useable pockets in my wardrobe, I guess I’ll have to make do.

Because it’s pretty necessary for me to carry a purse, I like to at least fill it with interesting things. Today I thought I’d show you what kind of stuff I have hanging out in my bag, a what’s in my bag post if you will.

fullsizeoutput_12c8.jpeg

It’s watching the sunset in the distance.

So that’s my purse right there. As far as purses go, it’s a good one. It’s made by Augur if you can’t read the slightly blurred rectangle in the middle. My only complaint is that the leather strap part you can see right there on the left started ripping at the top because the weight of all my things became too much. Otherwise, a good bag! If you are interested in it, check it out right here.

Now for the good stuff.

fullsizeoutput_12c7.jpeg

That right there is everything chilling out in my purse at the moment with the exception of my keys and wallet. Those two have been living in my backpack recently and I’d rather not advertise what they look like.

Up in the top left we’ve got the rad notebook I made some years back with its good buddy pen right beside it. Fun fact: all I have written in there is a bunch of French words I’ve defined as I’ve been reading the French version of Harry Potter.

Just over to the right of those two is my ever fashionable gift/loyalty card wallet. It’s mostly full of cards with a few cents left on them that I don’t have the energy to get rid of. Maybe someday, but not today.

Moving down, you’ve got a small tube of Lorac lip gloss and a charging brick for those times you need to do some emergency charging. I am missing the essential charging cable, but that’s future Nicole’s problem. There’s also a pair of ear plugs from when I went and saw Green Day a month ago and wanted to be able to hear in my classes the next day. I’ve also got a nice tube of Ibuprofen labeled as Advil because I am a frequent headache getter. Now that’s some good grammar right there.

The bandaid and penny are pretty self-explanatory. Now that red thing is a gris-gris bag I got on a cemetery tour in New Orleans. They’re supposed to bring good luck and protect you from evil and all that jazz. I don’t know that I believe in the powers of the free gris-gris bag, but it’s lived in my purse for three years now and I’m not about to take that sucker out. You never know, man. You never know.

Finally we come to my favorite item in of my purse, the slinky. I won this as a prize in my yearbook class senior year and like the gris-gris bag, I can’t bring myself to take it out. Boring situation? Pull out the slinky. Need an ice breaker or something to fill the awkward silence? Bust out the slinky. You become instantly more popular when you BYOS (bring your own slinky.) My purses will forever be chosen by whether I’m able to fit my slinky into them. Give it a try before you judge, it’s life changing.

And that about wraps it up. Now you know what lives in my bag most of the time. If you’ve got anything to say on the subject, I’d love to hear it down in the comments! If not, I guess I’ll be seeing you when I see you! Have a nice day, would ya?

–Nicole

Leave a Reply

