And So I Just Kept Writing To Myself.

Hey there everybody! Unfortunately, Thanksgiving break ended today and class has started up once more. Well, technically it ends tomorrow for me personally, but that’s not important considering I’m already feeling the stress. Too many video assignments due in the next two weeks, not enough days to get them done.

Anyway, I’ve been dubbed the Rory Gilmore of my friend group for various reasons, one of which is that I journal. Now I’m not nearly as detailed as Rory is, but I’ve been keeping one with some regularity since I was in sixth grade. As you can imagine, looking back through my middle school years in journal form is kind of a nightmare.

img_4435

This is the journal I’m currently on. The string keeps my secrets from falling out.

Now I’m definitely someone that has to write down what’s troubling them in order to move on and feel better. That only makes looking back on the middle school years that much better. I don’t remember being all that angsty, but I definitely funneled all the angst and insecurity I had into those pages. Needless to say, no one’s going to be looking through that little book but me.

That hormone fueled mess has leveled out some now that I’ve hit my young adult years, but I still like to write my troubles down. I finished out my first journal at the end of my junior year of high school right before my trip to France. When I started my new one, it began as a travel journal documenting all the fun places I went and things I did while abroad. The trouble once I got back was whether I wanted to keep it strictly a travel journal or throw in the rest of my usual entries in behind. Considering the limited amount of jet setting I do a year, I decided to go for the latter. Down below is an example of one of my France travel entries.

fullsizeoutput_12ca

See, I have to have that string holding it shut because I like to throw a bunch of crap in there with my thoughts. Sometimes I tape down whatever I put in, but usually I just let it be free like those train tickets in the photo above. That’s how I’ve done it since the beginning. I’m not a super nostalgic person, but I will keep all the meaningless wrist bands and stickers I get from the places I go in my journal so that old woman Nicole can look back someday and go wow, I wore that when I was young and stupid. How about that.

I don’t know, I just thought I’d share with you how and why I keep a journal. It’s a pretty good reflection of what goes on in my head, honestly. Not a whole lot of order, kind of sporadic, but I roll with it. If you actually read all the way through this, I’m impressed. Let me know if you keep a journal and how you go about it. Or don’t, that’s cool too. I’ll see you when I see you! Have a nice day today.

–Nicole

Today’s title comes from the novel Loved by Kimberly Novosel. I’ve never read the book, but it sounds like a good read based on the synopsis. Check it out here if you’re interested!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

