A Candle Loses Nothing by Lighting Another Candle”

It’s been pretty crafty up in our place for the last couple of weeks. I had to get gifts for some members of an organization I’m in, so I decided to make them candles! I’ve dipped candles before, but I’ve never poured wax into jars or anything to make them. It was an experience, but definitely not hard to do! Basically if you have access to a stove, you can do this!

img_4496You’re supposed to use a double boiler to melt the wax, but I don’t have one of those. Instead I used a pot and a smaller sauce pot! You fill the larger one with water, bring the water to really hot, and then put your wax chunks in the smaller pot. Careful though because the water and wax start jumping out as it gets hotter. You know, boiling and all. img_4485Michael’s had mason jars for like a dollar so I got a bunch of those suckers, a few wicks with the metal bit at the bottom for securing it to the jar, and some fragrance stuff so they’d smell nice. I think I technically got vanilla pomegranate, but they ended up smelling like fruit snacks. Either way, I call it a win.

You have to tie the wicks to something to keep them upright in the wax once you pour it in. Even if the wax seems to be hardened, leave the wicks in like that for a day or else they’ll drift to the side. I’m not speaking from experience or anything…Also, the wax contracts when it cools, so expect to have to fill in your candles again. img_4491

fullsizeoutput_12ff.jpegI also threw in some sprinkles on top for some cute factor. They probably won’t be so cute when they’re burning up in the wax, but it’ll probably be okay. It’s the thought that counts, right? img_4487There’s still wax all over the kitchen a week later, but that’s the price you pay for cute little candles I guess. Let me know if you try this out for yourself! That’s all I’ve got for today, so I’ll be see you when I see you! Have a nice day today.

–Nicole

Today’s title coming at you from Father James Keller.

One comment

  1. lucindalines · December 12

    I did some of these a couple of years ago and have to finish up some again later this year. I agree that the wax tends to get all over everything. I am still trying to get some of it off my counter. Ha, but it really is fun, and I love how I am able to reuse jars that would normally be discarded. Part of my never throw anything away mentality, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

