You Can Get Excited About the Future. The Past Won’t Mind.

Happy 2017 to you! I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions. New year, new me? I’m pretty sure the me holding the cup of sparkling apple cider in my backyard a minute to midnight was the same as the me holding the cup of sparkling apple cider watching my friends shoot off party poppers into the grass on the hour.

Okay I know that’s not what the idea behind it is all about, but I’m still not a big fan! No shame in having aspirations for the new year, though. I’ve known myself a good 20 or so years now and I know that I’m not a great sticker-toer. Exhibit A: all the blogs I’ve made in the past but tragically abandoned. It’s a true Christmas miracle that this one has lasted as long as it has!

Knowing this, I realize that making resolutions isn’t realistic. However, for some reason, I have no problem with making goals for the new year. Semantics I guess? I feel like resolutions are more of a life changer whereas with goals you make small changes along the way while working towards the end result. Or maybe they’re one in the same, but that’s what it feels like to me.

Now all that being said, I actually don’t have any specific goals for this year! Another perk of the whole goals thing is that I don’t feel the pressure to make them right now to last the rest of the year. Maybe I’ll do an update on what I come up with later, or maybe I’ll just float through the rest of the year as I please! Who knows.

However you has resolved to spend this year, I hope it goes well for you! After what seems like a unanimously sucky year, I think we all could use a good 2017. That’s all I’ve got for you, so I’ll see you when I see you! Have a nice day today.

–Nicole

Today’s title comes from writer Hillary DePiano.

 

Leave a Reply

