Moderately Late Night Snack

I’m hungry but it’s 11 o’clock and I’ve already eaten dinner

but I’m heating up mac n’ cheese.

You’re not supposed to eat this close to bed,

and I don’t really want to eat this close to bed,

but I’m also just really hungry.

I should throw a metaphor in here somewhere.

The bowl is an ocean and the noodles are the water

minding their own business until I eat them.

Microwave is going off so the metaphor is over.

What would you say if I told you I wrote this poem about heating up mac ‘n cheese instead of actually going to do it? My art is deception. I really am insanely hungry though, so I might go make some. I’m also insanely tired so I might just go to sleep. Either way, you probably have stopped caring so I’ll stop writing. I’ll see you when I see you. Have a nice day!

–Nicole

Leave a Reply

