Nicole Goes Places: New York Edition

Hey everybody! I can’t remember if I’ve said it in a post before, but I’m a journalism major! Let me tell you, that’s a great thing to be in the current media climate. Anyway, I’m in a magazine club at my school since magazine is an industry I might want to go into, and this week I went on a trip with them to New York!

img_4829

We left on Monday night and spent the next three days visiting major magazines and asking¬†questions about how the hell you move to New York, a job, and all that. The idea is equal parts exciting and terrifying for me, so I feel like that’s a sign I should try it someday. The key word here is someday.

Some of the places I got to see were Buzzfeed, Cosmopolitan, HGTV, US Weekly, and so many others in just three days that it makes my head spin. I’m leaning more towards the PR, advertising, branded content side of the industry, but who knows! We talked to an editor who had gotten a degree in plant science then went on to work for magazines. The world is your oyster.

In the time we weren’t frantically trying to figure out the subway and visiting magazines we got to explore on our own. I’ll leave some of the better photos I took in those times below.

Today we head back to good ol’ Missouri and all my responsibilities. Future Nicole is going to hate New York trip Nicole that decided to just not think about or do any of the work I have due this next week. Is this semester over yet?

That’s about all I’ve got for today. I need to go meet some friends for brunch and some last minute exploring before our flight. I’ll see you when I see you, and I hope you have a good one!

–Nicole

img_4840fullsizeoutput_1440

fullsizeoutput_1445fullsizeoutput_143e

 

Leave a Reply

